A Texas man is fighting MGM Resorts International over the rights to a disputed .com domain. MGM is claiming to be the rightful owner of the domain, but the defending Texan denies and says it is his personal property.
A Texas man is fighting not to give up a .com domain to Las Vegas resort and casino giant MGM Resorts International, according to reports from
Vegas Inc.
MGM is suing four individuals and two companies who have registered domain names that the company claims it has the rights to use, including Adam Majewski, who registered www.excaliburpoker.com in 2005.
MGM has turned to the court to prove Majewski is cybersquatting in order to cash in on the domain, but Majewski has denied and has now filed a motion to have the case dismissed.
According to Majewski, the Excalibur name is not exclusive to MGM, who owns a resort casino in Las Vegas by that name.
"Excalibur is not a distinctive mark," his court filing said.
"It was the sword of kings in the Arthur legends. Thousands of businesses use this name – Excalibur Bowling, Excalibur Taxi and even Excalibur Condoms."
Majewski claims to be an entrepreneur working in online gaming, internet marketing and social media.
He said that MGM wants the rights to the domain name, as the company is trying to position itself for online gambling in Nevada.
"Recent changes in Nevada law have opened up the prospect for Internet gambling," Majewski's motion says.
"Late to the feeding frenzy, MGM want to leverage the well-known names of its hotels in Las Vegas," it adds.
Majewski further claims that MGM "made no attempt" to contact him before the motion to dismiss was filed, and that he is simply fighting to defend what he calls his "personal property."
U.S. District Judge Phillip Pro on Thursday issued a preliminary injunction against
Majewski and the other defendants.
The injunction prevents the registered owners of the websites from moving the domains or passing on the registration to other people.