BBC set to broadcast W Series Esports League starting Thursday

Published by:
Posted on: June 10, 2020 6:32 pm EDT

The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) will begin broadcasting the W Series Esports League this week. The league was announced in May and is set to debut on Thursday evening. Earlier this month, the women-only motorsport championship revealed that it was cancelling the 2020 season on account of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The BBC will broadcast all 10 rounds of the W Series Esports League online and through its iPlayer. Racing fans will be able to enjoy a 90-minute show for each round of three races every Thursday throughout the series. The esports league will make use of popular worldwide racetracks, including Autodromo Nazionale di Monzain Italy and Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit in the United Kingdom.

The W Series Esports League will feature 18 drivers representing a dozen countries. Ayla Agren of Norway, Sabre Cook of the USA, Jamie Chadwick of the UK, Abbie Eaton of the UK, Jessica Hawkins of the UK, Sarah Moore of the UK, Alice Powell of the UK, Belen Garcia of Spain, Marta Garcia of Spain, Nerea Marti of Spain, Emma Kimilainen of Finland, Miki Koyama of Japan, Tasmin Pepper of South Africa, Vicky Piria of Italy, Irina Sidorkova of Russia, Bruna Tomaselli of Brazil, Beitske Visser of the Netherlands, and Fabienne Wohlwend of Liechtenstein will all compete.

W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir remarked, “We want the brand-new W Series Esports League to be intensely competitive, serious and authentic. Our partnerships with Logitech G, Beyond Entertainment and iRacing are going a long way to help us realize that ambition, and this new partnership with the BBC takes us further still.”

Bond Muir added, “The W Series Esports League can open both W Series and the world of esports to a wider audience, and the BBC’s unrivalled experience, trusted voice and diverse platforms will be the perfect conduit for that.”

More information about the W Series Esports League can be found at