Daniel Wong leads 35 Day 1A survivors in the WSOPC Main Event

Jen Mason
Published by:
Posted on: August 4, 2023 8:55 pm EDT

The first of four flights in London’s £1,100 WSOPC Main Event has come to an end after 15 40-minute levels, starting to build a Day 2 field for Monday that will contain a heady mix of pros, qualifiers and Super High Rollers filtering in from the Triton Series running in parallel. 

Only one chip millionaire

Of the 35 players bagging chips tonight, Daniel Wong was the only one to top a million, with his two nearest rivals being Rehman Kassam (833,000) and Trung Man Moc (926,000). The latter pair were sat side by side at the end of the day (pictured), on a chatty table that exemplified the fun atmosphere of this event.

Other notable players finishing with better-than-average stacks include online WSOP bracelet winner Harry Lodge (690,000), WPT champion Iaran Lightbourne (304,000), multiple WSOPC event winner La Sengphet and prolific UK cashers David McConachie (559,000) and Mitchell Johnson (473,000).

Dao Minh Phu

Early chip leader Dao Minh Phu (who’d rolled into the Main Event having busted the $250K Luxon Invitational next door) dramatically exited the tournament on the last hand of the night, joining the list of those possibly gearing up to have another shot. Day 1B commences at 12pm tomorrow, 5th August, with Days 1C and 1D taking place on Sunday at 12pm and 8pm respectively.

With £1,000,000 guaranteed, the upcoming flights are sure to be even busier as fresh entrants join those taking another stab after falling to the rail today (each flight also allows one re-entry).

Full chip counts – end of Day 1A

Daniel Wong1,080,000
Trung Moc926,000
Rehman Kassam833,000
Harry Lodge690,000
David McConachie559,000
Mitchell Johnson473,000
Thien Wu431,000
Tron McEntee426,000
Michael Quinn415,000
Aziz Bahar411,000
La Sengphet380,000
Rakesh Attuluri322,000
Iaran Lightbourne304,000
Micheal O’Brien276,000
Steve Watts254,000
Keith Hoang252,000
Namra Lakhani246,000
Ian Hunter243,000
Ryan O’Donnell220,000
Yonghao Zhou220,000
Eric Le Goff215,000
Charles Whitehouse205,000
Jaswal Yudhishter193,000
Miltiadis Kontis190,000
Thai Ha189,000
Parminder Singh Kandola166,000
Manuel Zapf165,000
Kevin Gu152,000
Philipe Souki148,000
Jay Yerby146,000
Narcis Olaru110,000
Patrice Brandt106,000
Diana Kalietina82,000
Iosif Spulber77,000
Abdul Biria60,000