2023 WSOP Europe: Sweden's Sven Joakim Andersson triumphs in NLH Turbo Bounty Hunter

WSOP Europe stage kings casino
Haley Hintze Author Photo
Haley Hintze
Posted on: November 10, 2023 02:11 PST

A fast paced Event #11, €1,100 NLH Turbo Bounty Hunter tournament at the 2023 WSOP Europe festival began and finished on Thursday with another first-time bracelet winner emerging from the action. Sweden's Sven Joakim Andersson claimed the top honors in the turbo-bounty event, which went from the first hands dealt to a winner in just 12 hours of play.

Andersson, who has focused on online events in recent years, returned to the live felt at Kings Casino in Rosvadov, Czech Republic, emerging with the largest cash of a live career that stretches back more than a decade. Andersson has also cashed in numerous WSOP online and international Circuit events since 2021.

Andersson's first bracelet win was worth €70,000 and came at the expense of Italy's Samantha Catia Algeri, whose runner-up finish brought her a €42,800 payday. Third place and €29,900 went to Brazil's Bruno Desimoni.

Hot hands for Andersson in finale

The final table turned into something of a walkover, as Andersson eliminated seven out of eight of his final-table foes. At €300 per bounty in the event, Andersson also picked up ten more bounties before reaching the finale, adding another €5,100 to his payout. Andersson, Algeri, and Desimoni also received entries into the WSOP Europe Main Event, which began today.

Andersson completed his rout in the turbo bounty event by cracking Algeri's pocket queens and inducing her to call of the last of her chips on a 9-8-7-7-6 board. He showed the five for the rivered straight to collect the pot and the bracelet win.

Event #11 570 total entries from 354 players who also contributed 216 re-entries. The tourney's €370,500 prize pool was distrubuted among the top 86 finishers. The final-table finishers in Event #11, €1,100 NLH Turbo Bounty Hunter, were as follows:

Joakim Andersson (Sweden) - €70,000
Samantha Algeri (Italy) - €42,800
Bruno Desimoni (Brazil) - €29,900
Jonathan Pastore (France) - €21,275
Agostino Scozzari (Italy) - €15,400
Robert Bickley (United Kingdom) - €11,300
Jacopo Achille (Italy) - €8,450
Miguel Abad (Spain) - €6,450
Stepan Budac (Moldova) - €5,000