GGPoker's 'Game of Gold' wins GPI Order of Merit Award

Game of Gold winner Maria Ho
Haley Hintze Author Photo
Haley Hintze
Posted on: January 12, 2024 01:22 PST

The Global Poker Index today announced the first official winner in the 2023 Global Poker Awards, to be presented to GGPoker for its highly acclaimed "Game of Gold" poker-series/reality-TV production. The 12-episode series featuring 16 professional and amateur players took the poker world by storm, with Maria Ho winning the series finale last month. ( All 12 complete episodes are available for viewing on YouTube .)

GPI posted the honor bestowed upon "Game of Gold" via social media:

The GPI Award of Merit is the first "new" honor of the upcoming fifth Global Poker Awards ceremony, announced belpw. The winners of three 2023 GPI Player of the Year categories were announced last week; Bin Weng, Kristen Foxen, and Nick Pupillo will be presented those awards at the upcoming GPA celebration.

Date announced for 5th GPI Global Poker Awards ceremony

In another part of a busy day for GPI/THM, GPI announced that the 5th GPI Global Poker Awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, February 24, 2024, at the PokerGO Studio in Las Vegas.

The awards for "Game of Gold", Weng, Foxen, and Pupillo are four of approximately 30 honors that are likely to bestowed. Voting for many other awards has entered preliminary voting after several days of open recommendations by the poker public in numerous categories. The voting in many categories goes through three rounds before a winner is determined, with votes offered by a large, industry-wide panel of prominent players, poker media and industry professionals.

The general poker public will have an additional say as well, as several "Fan's Choice" categories will be made open to the public via the site.