WSOP releases 2023 Poker Hall of Fame finalists

Brad Willis
Posted on: June 22, 2023 09:57 PDT

The World Series of Poker announced the names of the ten finalists for 2023 induction into the Poker Hall of Fame. The final list is a combination of champions, trailblazers, and industry icons.

The finalists are:

  • Josh Arieh
  • Jeremy Ausmus
  • Ted Forrest
  • Kathy Liebert
  • Mike Matusow
  • Lon McEachren & Norman Chad
  • Brian Rast
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg
  • Bill Smith

Poker Hall of Fame eligibility requirements

To qualify for the Poker Hall of Fame, a player or industry professional are required to meet the following criteria.

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Who votes for the Poker Hall of Fame?

The living members of the Hall of Fame will use a ten point balloting system to pick among the finalists. Of the 59 members of the Hall who have earned the HOF honor, there are 31 living members.

Today, the WSOP offered all of those living members free seats to this year's WSOP $1,979 Hall of Fame Bounty event. Those members who choose to play will carry a bounty equal in dollars to the year they were inducted into the Hall.

The Poker Hall of Fame has been around since 1979 and became part of the Harrah's property when the company bought the WSOP in 2004.

The WSOP announced today that it will announced the 2023 inductee during the Hall of Fame tournament on July 13. At the same time, the WSOP will unveil the winner's photo inside the new WSOP Poker room at the Horsehoe.

The inductee will be officially enshrined in conjunction with the WSOP Main Event final table this year.