Jake Daniels wins PokerGO Cup Event, takes 2nd on the leaderboard

Jon Pill
Posted on: February 07, 2022 15:57 PST

Jake Daniels won Event #3 of the PokerGO Cup. In the process, he landed himself in joint second place on the leaderboard for the series. The winner of the leaderboard wins a further $50,000, a silver cup, and a purple jacket.

Daniels ties with Daniel Colpoys with 200 points. Both players fall just short of Sean Perry's 232 points.

Daniels's run in Event #3: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em saw him turn his $10,000 buy-in into a $200,000 cash. There were 80 entries to the event, putting $800,000 in the pot, with 12 places paid.

The stakes go up in Event #4, so the fields are going to be much smaller from here on out.

Most of the usual suspects still turned out for the $10k events in the PokerGO studio at the Aria. Among those who busted before the money bubble were players like Cary Katz, Bryn Kenney, Nick Schulman, Ali Imsirovic, Stephen Chidwick, Darren Elias, and the defending PokerGO Cup holder, Daniel Negreanu.

The final table saw a half-dozen sharks circling each other, scenting out the slightest hint of blood. Brock Wilson was the first to bust. Chris Moorman, one of ACR's newest Team Pros, went to the rail in 4th place. He was the larger stack in a double elimination that also put paid to Sean Winter's (5th) run in the event.

With three players left Daniels had an enormous chip lead over his remaining opponents.

He was able to maintain that lead all the way to the end as first Daniel Weinand left the table then — after a short heads up bout — Jeremy Ausmus.

Ausmus took home $144,000 for his second-place finish. He also found himself in 8th on the PokerGO Cup leaderboard.

PokerGO tweeted: "Jake Daniels picked up a $200,000 score when he won Event #3 of the 2022 @PokerGO Cup."

PokerGO Cup Event #3: $10,000 No Limit Hold 'em complete results

Position Player Name Payout PokerGO Tour
Leaderboard Points
1st Jake Daniels $200,000 200
2nd Jeremy Ausmus $144,000 144
3rd Daniel Weinand $96,000 96
4th Chris Moorman $80,000 80
5th Sean Winter $64,000 64
6th Brock Wilson $48,000 48
7th Michael Wang $40,000 40
8th Scott Ball $32,000 32
9th Sean Perry $32,000 32
10th Steve Zolotow $24,000 24
11th Justin Saliba $24,000 24
12th Jake Schindler $16,000 16

Featured image source: PokerGO