Triton Super High Roller Series kicks off in North Cyprus

Mo Afdhal
Posted on: May 12, 2023 06:58 PDT

It's time for poker's elite tournament players to put on a show as another Triton Super High Roller Series kicks off.

The high stakes tournament series returns to North Cyprus with a slate of fifteen events spread across No Limit Hold'Em, Pot Limit Omaha, and Short Deck formats. The buy-ins for these events range from $20,000 to $200,000.

The highlight of the series, the $200,000 Luxon Pay Invitational , is on the schedule for May 18th. The invitation-only event combines recreational players with their chosen professionals. Each business-person that enters the event is allowed to invite one professional player. These invites are highly coveted within the high stakes tournament community.

In 2022, Triton introduced the invitational format to its schedule with the Coin Rivet Invitational. The UK's own Sam Grafton came out on top of a stacked field, winning $5.5 million.

PokerOrg will have boots on the ground in North Cyprus with coverage from the tournament floor. Additionally, PokerOrg's Instant Live feed will provide real-time updates, along with notable stories from players.

Early winners

The action got underway on May 12th with the $25,000 NLH GG Super Millions. India's Santosh Suvarna outlasted the field to take down the opener, winning $700,000 in the process.

The $20,000 7-Max NLH event was next up on the schedule. The two-day event led to a stacked final table with Triton regulars Jason Koon, Stephen Chidwick, Adrian Mateos, and Artur Martirosian all hoping to further their success on the tour.

In the end, it was Koon who managed to separate himself from the pack and take the title. The win marks Koon's sixth Triton title and brings his earnings on the tour to more than $18.8 million.

Player of the Year race heats up

Stephen Chidwick will look to maintain his lead over the rest of the field in the Ivan Leow Player of the Year race.

Currently, Chidwick has 2,907 points, giving him a solid lead over second place Sam Greenwood with 2,377 points. The remaining top five players in the points race--Seth Davies, Jason Koon, and Isaac Haxton--are all present and accounted for in North Cyprus, ready to battle for the title.