WSOP Spotlight: Poker Hall of Fame Bounty Event could be the highlight of the series

WSOP announces full schedule for 2021 series
Poker writer Geoff Fisk profile photo
Geoff Fisk
Posted on: June 18, 2021 09:28 PDT

Event #79 invites all living Poker Hall of Famers for a one-of-a-kind knockout tournament

The eagerly anticipated full schedule for the 2021 World Series of Poker went live on Tuesday, and the 88-event schedule offers the expected lineup of tournaments across nearly every imaginable poker format.

The 2021 series runs from Sept. 30 through Nov. 23 from its hallowed home at the Rio in Las Vegas, Near the end of that seven-week schedule sits what could be the most entertaining event among the 888 announced tournaments.

Event #79: Poker Hall of Fame Bounty No-Limit Hold’em Freezout, begins Nov. 17, the same day that will see the 2021 WSOP Main Event crowned. As a two-day event, the second half of the Poker Hall of Fame Bounty event will likely be in the WSOP spotlight on Nov. 18, with the fervor surrounding the Main Event final table in the rear-view mirror.

Poker Hall of Fame members get a freeroll into Event #79

The Poker Hall of Fame Bounty invites all living members of the Poker Hall of Fame to take a free seat in the freezeout tournament. Mere mortals without Hall of Fame credentials can get into the event for a $1,979 buy-in.

The buy-in pays homage to 1979, the year in which the Poker Hall of Fame was established. In the last 42 years, the Poker Hall of Fame has expanded to include 56 members.

That 56-player total over a 42-year span reflects the exclusivity of Hall of Fame membership. The living members of the Hall of Fame get a freeroll to WSOP Event #79.

All Hall of Famers who play in the tournament get a bounty placed on their elimination, which corresponds to the year they were inducted into the Hall of Fame. Americas Cardroom Team Pro Chris Moneymaker, for example, was inducted in 2019, and any player eliminating the 2003 WSOP Main Event champion would earn a $2020 bounty.

Living Poker Hall of Fame members

Year Inducted Player Name Year Inducted Player Name
1988 Doyle Brunson 2010 Erik Seidel
2002 Lyle Berman 2011 Barry Greenstein
2002 Johnny Chan 2013 Tom McEvoy
2003 Bobby Baldwin 2013 Scotty Nguyen
2004 Berry Johnston 2014 Jack McClelland
2005 Jack Binion 2014 Daniel Negreanu
2005 Crandell Addington 2015 Jennifer Harman
2006 T.J. Cloutier 2015 John Juanda
2006 Billy Baxter 2016 Todd Brunson
2007 Barbara Enright 2016 Carlos Mortensen
2007 Phil Hellmuth 2017 Phil Ivey
2008 Dewey Tomko 2018 Mori Eskandani
2008 Henry Orenstein 2019 Chris Moneymaker
2010 Dan Harrington 2019 David Oppenheim
    2020 Huck Seed

The players with bounties on them will read quite literally like a list of Poker Hall of Famers for what could be the most memorable event on the 2021 schedule. We don’t know who will actually take a seat in Event #79, but it could include perhaps the biggest poker icon from this list.

Doyle Brunson announced that he plans on playing at least a few events from the WSOP 2021 schedule. The 86-year-old poker legend has already been a Poker Hall of Famer for 33 years, the longest tenure of any living member.

WSOP will also announce the next inductee to the Poker Hall of Fame during the event, which runs Nov. 17-18.

Featured image source: Twitter