WSOP unveils 2023 Player of the Year race

Haley Hintze
Published by:
Posted on: May 31, 2023 6:12 pm EDT

The World Series of Poker has unveiled the home page for the WSOP’s 2023 Player of the Year race, returning with a familiar format that it has used in several recent years. The 2023 WSOP POY chase will encompass 115 events in total, including all 95 open events at the just-underway live series, plus 20 online bracelet events to be contested on the Nevada/New Jersey shared platform. The formula for calculating 2023 POY points is identical to that used in 2022.

As in recent years, players who make the money in a points-elegible event will earn points commensurate with the event’s buy-in, the entry fee, and the player’s finishing position. The winner of the 2023 POY race will receive the following:

  • 2024 WSOP Main Event seat
  • Unique trophy
  • Player of the Year banner at Paris/Horseshoe

The only five events that are not POY points-eligible are excluded due to limitations on who can enter. Those include the Casino Employees, Ladies, Seniors, Super Seniors, and Tag Team tournaments.

In 2022, Dan Zack captured the POY honor by winning two bracelets, making two more final tables, and finishing with 17 WSOP cashes overall. Zack topped Daniel Weinberg for the honor, with Koray Aldemir, Shaun Deeb, and David Peters rounding out the top five.

The 2023 WSOP Player of the Year landing page also includes the return of the POY points calculator, which players can use to calculate how many POY points they’ve been awarded for any in-the-money finish. The landing page also includes the current leaderboard based on results entered into the WSOP’s system on the prior day. The leaderboard itself is updated once per day, typically around 3:00 or 4:00 am, so points earned in a late-running event often take an extra day to appear in the POY counts.

Featured image source: World Series of Poker