WSOP announces 2022 Player of the Year race and points formula

Josh Arieh Ev 73 Day 3 (Image: Haley Hintze)
Haley Hintze Author Photo
Haley Hintze
Posted on: May 24, 2022 15:24 PDT

The World Series of Poker has disclosed that there will again be a 2022 WSOP Player of the Year race, though significantly simplified from what was offered in 2021. This year, the WSOP will offer the POY honoree a free seat into the 2023 WSOP $10,000 Main Event, in addition to a special POY trophy and a banner to be hung at the series in future years.

There appear to be no significant changes to the formula used by the WSOP in calculating POY events, which are awarded to every player who cashes in any points-eligible event. Points are calculated based on an event's buy-in, number of entrants, and finishing position. The WSOP has already launched a points-calculator online page available for players to use throughout the 2022 series.

Only "open" events are included in the POY calculations. Five events with various eligibility restrictions are therefore excluded:

  • Event #1: $500 Casino Employees No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #47: $1,000 Seniors No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #55: $1,000 Tag Team No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #59: $1,000 Super Seniors No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #61: $1,000/$10,000 Ladies Event

VELO seemingly exits as POY and No Limit leaderboards sponsor

The single $10,000 Main Event seat awarded to the 2022 POY represents a sharp cutback from 2021. It's likely due to the apparent loss of the POY leaderboard's 2021 sponsor, VELO, which does not appear in any mention related to the 2022 series.

In 2021, VELO put up $100,000 in total prize money for two separate leaderboard races, the traditional WSOP POY chase and a new VELO No Limit race, which included only no-limit format events. Each leaderboard race saw $50,000 awarded to the top three finishers. Josh Arieh won a $25,000 bonus for winning the POY title, while Scott Ball claimed the matching $25,000 bonus given to the VELO No Limit points winner.

Arieh became the 16th different winner of the WSOP POY award during the 17 series in which the POY has awarded the honor. Daniel Negreanu remains the only two-time winner of the award; Negreanu captured the inaugural POY honor in 2004, and did so again in 2013. No player has ever won the POY title without also capturing at least one bracelet win during the course of the series.

Featured image source: Haley Hintze