PokerGO Tour Championship title will be awarded in $500,000 winner-take-all invitational

Jon Pill
Published by:
Posted on: March 6, 2022 1:05 am EST

PokerGO has announced that this year’s PokerGO Tour will end with the PGT Championship. The event will be held in the PokerGO studio at the Aria where the top 21 players on the PGT Player of the Year Leaderboard will be invited to play. PokerGO are putting up a $500,000 dollar first prize as well as the title PGT Champion.

This is a winner-take-all event, so second place is just first of the losers and will take home $0 for their troubles.

“The PGT is the battleground for the most elite poker players in the world,” Mori Eskandani, President of
PokerGO, said. “And it is only right that we honor the best of the best in extraordinary fashion. We are proud to award the 2022 PGT season champion with a $500,000 prize as we continue to celebrate the most talented players our game has to offer.”

The winner will also be crowned the PGT Champion. The PGT Champion title is distinct from the PGT Player of the Year title which carries its own cash prize and is based purely on the leaderboard points.

The event will start with three tables of seven players each. The event will then switch to six-max for the final table.

The PGT Championship final table will be broadcast live, as usual, on PokerGO with a possible free broadcast on Youtube.

The date for this broadcast has not yet been set.

Current leaderboard standings

Although there is still a long way to go in the 2022 PGT Tour, the current standing have Nick Petrangelo topping out the leaderboard by a decent margin.

You can see the current top 21 players on the PokerGO Tour leaderboard below:

PostionPlayer NameCountryPOY PointsWinsCashes
1stNick PetrangeloUSA1,06634
2ndSean PerryUSA85927
3rdAli ImsirovicBosnia and Hertzegovina84038
4thJeremy AusmusUSA65814
5thBrock WilsonUSA63606
6thDaniel NegreanuCanada57625
7thAlex FoxenUSA49817
8thJake SchindlerUSA48527
9thCary KatzUSA48315
10thSean WinterUSA43907
11thJoseph CheongUSA43202
12thMichael WangUSA39413
13thDarren EliasUSA34706
14thJonathan JaffeUSA34411
15thBill KleinUSA33603
16thDaniel ColpoysUSA32112
17thNick SchulmanUSA29904
18thJake DanielsUSA28612
19thPunnat PunsriThailand25122
20thChris BrewerUSA21003
21stIvan ZuficCroatia19811

Featured image source: PokerGO