Daniel Wong leads 35 Day 1A survivors in the WSOPC Main Event

Jen Mason
Posted on: August 04, 2023 11:55 PDT

The first of four flights in London’s £1,100 WSOPC Main Event has come to an end after 15 40-minute levels, starting to build a Day 2 field for Monday that will contain a heady mix of pros, qualifiers and Super High Rollers filtering in from the Triton Series running in parallel. 

Only one chip millionaire

Of the 35 players bagging chips tonight, Daniel Wong was the only one to top a million, with his two nearest rivals being Rehman Kassam (833,000) and Trung Man Moc (926,000). The latter pair were sat side by side at the end of the day (pictured), on a chatty table that exemplified the fun atmosphere of this event.

Other notable players finishing with better-than-average stacks include online WSOP bracelet winner Harry Lodge (690,000), WPT champion Iaran Lightbourne (304,000), multiple WSOPC event winner La Sengphet and prolific UK cashers David McConachie (559,000) and Mitchell Johnson (473,000).

Dao Minh Phu Joe Giron/pokerphotoarchive.com

Early chip leader Dao Minh Phu (who'd rolled into the Main Event having busted the $250K Luxon Invitational next door) dramatically exited the tournament on the last hand of the night, joining the list of those possibly gearing up to have another shot. Day 1B commences at 12pm tomorrow, 5th August, with Days 1C and 1D taking place on Sunday at 12pm and 8pm respectively.

With £1,000,000 guaranteed, the upcoming flights are sure to be even busier as fresh entrants join those taking another stab after falling to the rail today (each flight also allows one re-entry).

Full chip counts - end of Day 1A

Daniel Wong 1,080,000
Trung Moc 926,000
Rehman Kassam 833,000
Harry Lodge 690,000
David McConachie 559,000
Mitchell Johnson 473,000
Thien Wu 431,000
Tron McEntee 426,000
Michael Quinn 415,000
Aziz Bahar 411,000
La Sengphet 380,000
Rakesh Attuluri 322,000
Iaran Lightbourne 304,000
Micheal O'Brien 276,000
Steve Watts 254,000
Keith Hoang 252,000
Namra Lakhani 246,000
Ian Hunter 243,000
Ryan O'Donnell 220,000
Yonghao Zhou 220,000
Eric Le Goff 215,000
Charles Whitehouse 205,000
Jaswal Yudhishter 193,000
Miltiadis Kontis 190,000
Thai Ha 189,000
Parminder Singh Kandola 166,000
Manuel Zapf 165,000
Kevin Gu 152,000
Philipe Souki 148,000
Jay Yerby 146,000
Narcis Olaru 110,000
Patrice Brandt 106,000
Diana Kalietina 82,000
Iosif Spulber 77,000
Abdul Biria 60,000